Albums That Surprised Me: It’s Like This / Rickie Lee Jones

Rickie Lee Jones tried a variety of approaches between 1995-2001 — originals, acoustic versions, live album at Red Rocks. But in the middle, she accomplished the unusual: a quality all-covers disc, coherent in sound and reflecting the artist’s diverse tastes in source material.

If you have an album with “Low-Spark of High-Heeled Boys” and “On The Street Where You Live” back to back, I’ll probably buy your album. If it has Steely Dan and West Side Story as bookends, same thing.

This disc contained both of those pairs, along with some fine supporting musicians (including Ben Folds and Joe Jackson on the piano side and John Pizzarelli on acoustic guitar).

Plus it features Rickie Lee Jones sounding like Rickie Lee Jones. 

File It’s Like This under Gems, Hidden.

  1. Show Biz Kids
  2. Trouble Man
  3. For No One
  4. Smile
  5. The Low Spark Of High-Heeled Boys
  6. On The Street Where You Live
  7. I Can’t Get Started
  8. Up A Lazy River
  9. Someone To Watch Over Me
  10. Cycles
  11. One Hand, One Heart

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *